Wednesday, May 22, 2019

See #RollRedRoll in #Seattle : May 20th, May 28th, and May 29th!

Join director Nancy Schwartzman and #WAState Rep. Tina Orwall on Tuesday, May 28th at 6:30 pm at the SIFF Cinema Uptown in #Seattle for a panel discussion after the #RollRedRoll screening! 

In this infuriating but necessary documentary, a girl is raped by high-school football players—a crime discovered when they boast about it via texts and Twitter—and the town closes ranks to protect… yep, the players.

"The much-reported 2012 case of sexual assault in Steubenville, Ohio gets re-examined in a tough yet vital new film."—The Guardian

See #RollRedRoll in #Seattle : May 20th, May 28th, and May 29th!

Tuesday, April 9, 2019

URGENT: WASHINGTON STATE RAPE KIT REFORM LEGISLATIVE ALERT 2SHB 1166

URGENT: WASHINGTON STATE RAPE KIT REFORM LEGISLATIVE ALERT 2SHB 1166

PLEASE SUPPORT SEXUAL ASSAULT SURVIVORS!

THE SENATE RULES COMMITTEE MUST PASS 2SHB 1166 OUT OF COMMITTEE WITHOUT DELAY!


PLEASE TAKE IMMEDIATE ACTION!

Please Urge the Senate Rules Committee To Pass 2SHB 1166 Out of Committee!

FYI: Here is the link to the actual legislative page for 2SHB 1166:


PLEASE USE THE FOLLOWING EMAIL MESSAGE:

Subject: Please Pass 2SHB 1166 Out of Committee

Dear Members of the Senate Rules Committee:

I am writing to urge your support for 2SHB 1166, Supporting Sexual Assault Survivors, sponsored by Representative Tina Orwall.  I urge the Committee to pass 2SHB 1166 out of committee without delay.

The public safety imperative for enacting 2SHB 1166 is critical for Washington State.  With the enactment of 2SHB 1166, Washington State will further the critical advancement of our state’s ongoing rape kit reform campaign and begin to deliver long-delayed justice for all sexual assault survivors. With the enactment of 2SHB 1266, Washington State will further establish the potential for identifying DNA matches and identifying an untold number of serial rapists, thereby leading to the potential for indictments and prosecutions.  By passing 2SHB 1166 out of committee, Washington State will eliminate its rape kit backlog and establish a Survivors’ Bill of Rights. Passing 2SHB1166 out of committee will further advance a critical justice imperative for all survivors. These critical justice and public safety imperatives demand the continuation of Representative Orwall’s legislative rape kit reform campaign by passing 2SHB 1166 out of committee and enacting this vital legislation.

Thank you for your time and consideration of this critical legislation.  

Sincerely,
[Name]
[Address]
[Phone number and email]


HERE IS A LISTING OF THE COMMITTEE EMAILS THAT YOU CAN COPY AND PASTE:





LET’S GET 2SHB 1166 TO GOVERNOR INSLEE’S DESK!

THANK YOU FOR SUPPORTING
SEXUAL ASSAULT SURVIVORS!



Wednesday, April 3, 2019

URGENT: WASHINGTON STATE RAPE KIT REFORM LEGISLATIVE ALERT 2SHB 1166

URGENT: WASHINGTON STATE RAPE KIT REFORM LEGISLATIVE ALERT 2SHB 1166

Please Support Sexual Assault Survivors!


The Senate Ways and Means Committee Must Pass 2SHB 1166 Out of Committee by APRIL 9th!


Please Urge the Senate Ways and Means Committee To Schedule 2SHB 1166 For Executive Session and Pass 2SHB 1166 Out of Committee by APRIL 9th!


Thank you for Supporting Sexual Assault Survivors!

Please Use the Following Email Message:

Subject: Please Pass 2SHB 1166 Out of Committee

Dear Members of the Senate Ways and Means Committee:


I am writing to urge your support for 2SHB 1166, Supporting Sexual Assault Survivors, sponsored by Representative Tina Orwall. I urge the Committee to schedule 2SHB 1166 for executive session and pass 2SHB 1166 out of committee without delay.

The public safety imperative for enacting 2SHB 1166, combined with Washington State’s existing legislative rape kit reform campaign, will further the critical advancement of Washington State’s ongoing rape kit reform campaign and begin to deliver long-delayed justice for all sexual assault survivors. With the enactment of 2SHB 1266, Washington State will further establish the potential for identifying DNA matches and identifying an untold number of serial rapists, thereby leading to the potential for indictments and prosecutions. By passing 2SHB 1166 out of committee, Washington State will eliminate its rape kit backlog and establish a Survivors’ Bill of Rights. Passing and fully funding 2SHB1166 will further advance the critical justice imperative for all survivors. The critical imperatives for justice and public safety demand the continuation of Representative Tina Orwall’s legislative rape kit reform campaign by passing 2SHB 1166 out of committee and enacting this vital legislation.

Thank you for your time and consideration of this critical legislation.

Sincerely,
[Name]
[Address]
[Phone number and email]

Here is a listing of the Committee emails that you can copy and paste:

Christine.Rolfes@leg.wa.gov, David.Frockt@leg.wa.gov, Mark.Mullet@leg.wa.gov, John.Braun@leg.wa.gov, Sharon.Brown@leg.wa.gov, Jim.Honeyford@leg.wa.gov, Barbara.Bailey@leg.wa.gov, Randi.Becker@leg.wa.gov, Andy.Billig@leg.wa.gov, Reuven.Carlyle@leg.wa.gov, Steve.Conway@leg.wa.gov, Jeannie.Darneille@leg.wa.gov, Bob.Hasegawa@leg.wa.gov, Sam.Hunt@leg.wa.gov, Karen.Keiser@leg.wa.gov, Marko.Liias@leg.wa.gov, Guy.Palumbo@leg.wa.gov, Jamie.Pedersen@leg.wa.gov, Ann.Rivers@leg.wa.gov, Mark.Schoesler@leg.wa.gov, Kevin.VanDeWege@leg.wa.gov, Keith.Wagoner@leg.wa.gov, Judy.Warnick@leg.wa.gov, Lynda.Wilson@leg.wa.gov


And here is a link to the actual legislative page for 2SHB 1166:

https://app.leg.wa.gov/billsummary?BillNumber=1166&Year=2019

Wednesday, June 28, 2017

URGENT WASHINGTON STATE LEGISLATIVE ALERT 

HELP SAVE RAPE KIT REFORM IN WASHINGTON STATE 

Recently enacted HB 1109 advances Washington State rape kit reform.  However, HB 1109 may not become law because of the state budget stalemate.  HB 1109 has a "null and void" clause that will go into effect if there is a state government shutdown.



See: If State Government Shuts Down, Some Legislation That Passed Could Be Scrapped | Seattle Weekly

http://www.seattleweekly.com/news/if-state-government-shuts-down-some-legislation-that-passed-will-be-scrapped/

Representative Tina Orwall has been lobbying state legislators to extend the null and void deadline to save HB 1109 and we will know by the end of today if HB 1109 will be included in the state budget - there is little time to act.


WE MUST ACT NOW!!

We need urgent outreach to the following budget leaders:
Please email the following legislators immediately: Here is a sample email:

Subject Line: Please Include and Fully Fund Rape Kit Reform Law, HB 1109

Dear Senators and Representatives:

I am writing to urge you to save Washington State’s critical rape kit reform law, HB 1109.  I urge you to stand with sexual assault survivors and include HB 1109 in the state budget so it can be fully funded.  

Thank you,
[Your name]
[Your address]
[Your phone number and email address]


Rep. Pat Sullivan: Pat.Sullivan@leg.wa.gov
Rep. Timm Ormsby: Timm.Ormsby@leg.wa.gov
Senator Joe Fain: Joe.Fain@leg.wa.gov
Rep. June Robinson: June.Robinson@leg.wa.gov
Senator Ann Rivers: Ann.Rivers@leg.wa.gov
Senator John Braun: John.Braun@leg.wa.gov

Please email the legislators or call the Legislative Hotline: 1.800.562.6000


Friday, April 15, 2016

Thousands of untested rape kits in Washington — and a possible solution

http://crosscut.com/2016/04/thousands-of-rape-kits-go-untested-in-washington-new-initiative-aims-to-fix-that/